31DC: Day 1

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Introduction, A Recent Photo, and 15 Interesting Facts

Well an introduction is probably a good thing, since I don't think I ever really did a proper intro on here.  My name is Jennifer, I'm 28 and I live just outside Pittsburgh, PA.  As you can tell by this blog I'm just your typical horse crazy girl who was lucky enough to finally get my own pony.  I was bit by the horsey bug early and to be honest I'm not sure where it came from as no one in my family is the least bit horsey.  For as long as I can remember I would devour any type of horse book.  I had so many guides to horse breeds, tack, grooming and so forth.  I've lost count of the number of times I read the Black Stallion books.  Any movies with horses I had to watch no matter how cheesy they might be.  I watched the Spruce Meadows show jumping competitions when they were broadcast, and every horse race I could find on TV I would watch.  I think I saw almost all of Cigar's races, he was really the start of my love of the thoroughbred.  After years of begging I was finally able to start taking lessons when I was 14.  Two years later I switched barns and joined the local Pony Club.  It wasn't until I was 24 that I got my own pony, the one of a kind X-Tra.

I guess I should include a little about my life outside the barn.  After I graduated from the University of Pittsburgh in 2004 I worked as Assistant Manager of the Borders Express in the Beaver Valley Mall for 3 years.  Currently I work for my Alma Mater in the Benefits Department.  My current position is Benefits Bitch, oops I mean Benefits Specialist.  Pretty much I do anything and everything in the office, answer phones, help people at the counter, enter family status changes, and do adjustments.  It's very stressful and most days I pretty much just want to cry when I leave.  And because Pitt pays next to nothing, I'm working a second job in the evenings.  A couple nights a week I work at Wal-Mart in Cranberry.  And actually I really enjoy it.  I miss retail, as sick as that sounds.  I wouldn't mind getting back into retail full time if I could find something that paid well enough.

The picture is from this past summer.  That's my trainer's horse Bugsy with me.  I had just learned a new way to braid manes and Buggers was my test subject.

And now for 15 facts:

  1. I love Pittsburgh football.  whether it's the Steelers or my Pitt Panthers, I've got to watch the game or at least listen to it. 
  2. I hate white socks.  I never wear them if I can help it.  They're just too boring.
  3. I have terrible short term memory.  I can't remember what I did last week, but I can remember conversations from 10 years ago word for word.
  4. I cry way too easily.
  5. Lexington, Kentucky is one of the most beautiful places in this country.
  6. I've lived in Western PA my entire life.  In fact, all of my family lives in the same town.
  7. I love to travel.  I don't mind flying anymore, but I still love road trips.  Nothing like traveling with the windows down and the music blasting.
  8. I am extremely close to my family.  I talk to my mom everyday.  And I see my Aunt and Uncle at least once a week.
  9. I have the best friend I could ever ask for.  She knows me better than I know myself.
  10. I have very eclectic taste in music.  My iPod has everything from classical to broadway to Britney to Eminem.
  11. However I could listen to Christmas music all year long.  I love it!
  12. There is no better feeling in the world than flying over a fence with my horse.
  13. My goal is to someday compete in a long format event.
  14. my biggest fear is failure.
  15. When all else fails, seeing my pony instantly makes me feel better.